Twisted Turban Headband

Before I got my hair done in this nice little fringe which is keeping my hair behaving I had a lot of hairy mishaps with styling.

Bad pun? Ok!

So I was on…nevermind you know where I was

Look what I found! A turban-like headband, it looks kinda vintage 1920′s I think. (Sorry about the pictures…I done this randomly). As a bonus this takes very little effort!

http://www.fashiondivadesign.com/27-most-popular-diy-fashion-ideas-ever/

What you’ll need:

  • An old jumper
  • Scissors
  • Pins
  • Tape measure
  • Needle and thread with cotton thread*
  • A sewing machine with cotton thread, bobbin and bobbin case in same colour as the cotton*
  • A balance between determination and not caring.

*Optional yo!

I got one on my old jumpers to make this headband..."Quin" (like in Glee) manniquin was already dressed.

I got one on my old jumpers to make this headband…”Quin” (like in Glee) mannequin was already dressed.

Guess working I folded my jumper and starting from the bottom...(DON'T FINISH THAT SENTENCE WITH "now where here" (-_-) don't even go there and try and make it work it's so over now)...I measured 4inches...

Guess working I folded my jumper and starting from the bottom…(DON’T FINISH THAT SENTENCE WITH “now where here” (-_-) don’t even go there and try to make it work it’s so over now)…I measured 4 inches…

...and pin to mark and a guide to cut. Also kept the fabric from unfolding.

…and pin to mark and a guide to cut. Also kept the fabric from unfolding.

Once I cut it I had to split it in two so I trimmed off the overlocking on the sides.

Once I cut it I had to split it in two so I trimmed off the overlocking on the sides.

See two pieces.

See two pieces.

I then folded it half, pinned it...

I then folded it half, pinned it…

...sewn it..

…sewn it..

...and turned it inside out. I did this twice to create...

…and turned it inside out. I did this twice to create…

...two! I then made an X...

…two! I then made an X…

...and put two ends of one together...

…and put two ends of one together…

...and did the same to the other...

…and did the same to the other…

...and sewn all the ends together...

…and sewn all the ends together…

...trying and adjusting the fit/size as you go.Once I was happy I just trimmed the access off and tried it on to look.

…trying and adjusting the fit/size as you go. Once I was happy I just trimmed the access off and tried it on to look.

Ta da! Your twisted turban headband...

Ta da! Your twisted turban headband…

…however if you’re totally uninterested in sewing…

...you can do the same with two scarfs like I did which gives you a more creative outlook.

…you can do the same with two scarfs like I did which gives you a more creative outlook.

Enjoy! x Please exuse the no make up...or don't i'm not bothered (whats wrong with me today lol I do love you peeps I'm bothered about ya'll).

Enjoy! x Please excuse the no make up…or don’t I’m not bothered (whats wrong with me today lol I do love you peeps I’m bothered about ya’ll). x

Hope this was fun and looked nice on you!

Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

